Safeguarding of Vulnerable Adults (SOVA) Level 2 (VTQ)

47 videos, 2 hours and 4 minutes

Course Content

Course Overview

Video 2 of 47
1 min 37 sec

Before we start this course, we will first look at what's covered during the training. The course is divided into categories, and within each category, you will find several videos. You can pause and watch again any of the videos on the course. We update our courses regularly, and you will be able to see any replacements and also any new videos as they are released. This may be an online course. If you have any questions during the course, you can contact us by phone, email, or use our online chat facility on any of our websites.

You will work through the course videos in order, and now, I will give you an overview of what is contained in the course. In the first section, we will look at what SOVA is, the Care Quality Commission, adult safeguarding and the risk of harm. The different types of acts and regulations regarding SOVA are also explained. The protection from Assessment Act, the Human Rights Act. The data barring service is also discussed in more detail, such as the process and how to register. The other categories that we will cover are the facts and information about abuse, who is a vulnerable adult, physical abuse, sexual abuse, financial abuse, consent, the duty of care, managing risk and multi-agency safeguarding of adults and serious case reviews and sources of information. The final categories cover reporting abuse, such as whistleblowing, responding to suspected or disclosed abuse, and also confidentiality in the workplace.