Safeguarding of Vulnerable Adults (SOVA) Level 2 (VTQ)

47 videos, 2 hours and 4 minutes

Course Content

The Care Act 2014

Video 15 of 47
5 min 10 sec
Want to watch this video? Sign up for the course or enter your email below to watch one free video.

Unlock This Video Now for FREE

This video is normally available to paying customers.
You may unlock this video for FREE. Enter your email address for instant access AND to receive ongoing updates and special discounts related to this topic.

The Care Act 2014: A Cinematic Exploration of Safeguarding Updates

Introduction to the Care Act's Revisions

This film illuminates the transformative updates ushered in by the Care Act of 2014. Primary among them are pivotal changes in safeguarding definitions and methodologies.

Key Principles of Safeguarding

The Care Act endorses six fundamental principles that serve as the cornerstone for supporting vulnerable individuals:

  • Empowerment: Advocates for enabling individuals to make informed decisions, highlighting the essence of informed consent.
  • Prevention: Stresses on proactive measures before any harm befalls.
  • Proportionality: Concentrates on addressing risks using minimally intrusive methods.
  • Protection: Assures utmost support and representation for those in dire need.
  • Partnership: Accentuates the community's collective role in safeguarding endeavours.
  • Accountability: Underscores the significance of transparency in safeguarding processes.

Chapter 14: Definition of Adult Abuse

The Care Act 2014, Chapter 14, introduces a nuanced definition, positing that safeguarding responsibilities extend to adults with care and support needs, regardless of whether these needs are met by the local authority. This encompasses adults at risk due to inherent care needs, making them susceptible to harm.

Enhancements in Meeting Protocols

In a shift from prior practices, the Care Act abolishes the allowance for alleged abusers to attend meetings with victims. It also dismisses the need for significant harm thresholds to trigger inquiries and broadens the abuse categories.

Section 42: Duty of Inquiry

As per Section 42, local authorities bear the responsibility to initiate or mandate inquiries if there's a reasonable suspicion of abuse or neglect concerning a vulnerable adult.

Statutory Safeguarding Adult Boards (SABs)

The Act grants SABs statutory recognition, anchored by three core stakeholders: Clinical commissioning groups, police chiefs, and local authorities. Their primary aim? Ensure efficient collaborative efforts for safeguarding qualifying adults. Core responsibilities encompass publicising an annual strategy, publishing an annual report, and overseeing Safeguarding Adults Reviews (SARs) – which now replace Serious Case Reviews (SCRs).

Safeguarding Adults Reviews (SARs): A Focus on Learning

SARs are commissioned when there's an adult fatality under circumstances of known or suspected abuse. An imperative evolution here is the shift towards learning-centric reviews, leveraging techniques like predictive inquiry to foster stakeholder-driven improvements.

"Making Safeguarding Personal": A Central Theme

This approach promotes a personalised and outcome-centric safeguarding process. The crux? Engage individuals in meaningful dialogues to glean insights into their preferred resolution pathways.


The updates within the Care Act 2014 mirror the UK's concerted strides towards fortifying safeguarding practices and championing the welfare of its vulnerable adult population.